Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

I like bananas and stars

Day two with no trip to the Emergency Room, and I seem to be feeling much better; I’m still not perfect by any stretch, and the shows each day are taking a lot out of me, but I’m definitely feeling very similar to my old self. 😉

So, tour is pretty fun. Yes, I’m in an RV with six guys for two weeks, but these are six amazingly cool men. The other day when I needed to go to the hospital, there was not the slightest hesitancy in any of them about taking me, nor was there any hint of resentment. I wasn’t a burden, I was simply a family-member that needed care. We’re all in this together, and my boys are totally hip to taking care of me. They’re pretty great guys; I’m so psyched to be on tour with them.

Steve is just proving once again how much he loves me, and it’s so completely mutual. We are so much more than friends; he really is my “chosen brother.” I had a great chat with Vinny tonight, too, and it’s been lovely to get to know the guys in Sandal Machine Foot better. It’s always great when a band whose music I love is comprised of people I adore too.

Some of the guys’ girlfriends came down to Manhattan for the gig last night. It was a surprise (I was in on the secret and a little on the planning), and it was really wonderful. It made playing in Manhattan feel like a show in our own back yard.

I’ve been doing my usual act of thinking I play like shit at about 2/3 of our shows, but I think the tour is going amazingly well. Being a rock star is fun.

I talked to Tim for a few hours today, it was the first time we had talked for so long in several days. I miss him lots. I know I’ve said this before, but I am so happy that I met Tim, so happy I have him in my life. He is really special – he makes me laugh, he makes me feel important, he cares about me lots. He kinda sorta rocks. 😀

Today we played in Mechanicsburg, PA. We ate at this restaurant called “Cheeburger! Cheeburger!” They had a bananas foster shake on the menu. I ordered one and wouldn’t shut up about how excited I was about it. The guy making it asked me if I had had one before, and I explained that, no, it was just that bananas foster is my favorite dessert so that when I saw it on the menu I had to order it. He finished making it and gave it to me. I tried a sip and he asked me how it was. I told him it was great. Then, because I never know when to shut up, I told him that I “have a thing for bananas.” I guess I said it more flirty than I meant, because he said something indistinct, but it was clear he thought I was being dirty, and then I turned brilliantly beet-red. Sometimes I am so oblivious.

We’re at a campground in Gettysburg tonight, and the stars are just amazing. I love living near a city, but I always forget how much the city-light interferes with the star-light. What a gorgeous night.

la-la-la-tra-la-la

Pretty Fuckin’ Happy

Life is so cool

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

