Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Day 4: Penny’s Excellent Adventure

[This is part of my ongoing diary about my SRS experience in Trinidad, Colorado with Dr. Marci Bowers. See the main page here: Penny’s Excellent Adventure.]

7:50 AM:

Off to add Jayme to the rental car and then stop at the Trinidad State Junior College bookstore (there are rumors that they have stuff with the logo “TS” {“transsexual” – though I’m sure they mean “Trinidad State”}), and then we’re off to the doctor for my pre-surgical visit. I am overflowing with emotions; this is pretty much the culmination of everything I’ve ever wanted. Um, wow. I never really believed that I would ever get here. Wow. Just. Wow.

 

12:00 PM:

Sitting in the doctor’s office – pre-registered in the hopsital and giddy as all hell!

 

2:04 PM:

Back at the hotel from the doctor’s office. I’ve pre-registered at the hospital, had blood drawn, and just gotten myself about as giddy as I could possibly be. I have to start the annoying pre-surgical routine known as “bowel-prep” soon, drinking a yucky liquid and poopin’ my brains out. Fun.

I’m the first surgery tomorrow, so I have to be at the hospital at 5:00 AM. That’s awesome; I wanted to be the first surgery so I would be done that much earlier.

I got some stuff at the Trinidad State Junior College bookstore, a couple t-shirts and lounge pants; they’re cute.

While I was in with my doctor she got a call from MTV! It was very slightly annoying to have a doctor called out of the room during our consult, but c’mon, for MTV? That’s kinda cool. The doctor was very nice, and I really feel good about her as my surgeon (which I knew already, and that’s the reason I’m here). 

The guy who drew my blood was really sweet, too. We had a nice chat and I didn’t even feel him stick the needle in when he was drawing the blood.

All-in-all I have an amazing feeling about this.

And I have been amazed and humbled by the out-pouring of love and well-wishes and prayers from more people than I imagined would care so much about me; I am truly blessed. Thank you all.

 

5:30 PM:

Yay, Alana is here and just hung out for a little bit in my hotel room! How awesome is it that I have such amazing friends that are willing to travel so far for no other reason than to be by me side as I go through this? Did I mention that I’m blessed?

 

5:46 PM:

“Bowel prep” isn’t all that fun, but it’s not nightmarish either; I’ll certainly be empty by the time morning rolls around.

 

10:00 PM:

And here I am, getting ready to settle down for a scant 4-ish hours of sleep before I’ll get up and get to the hospital at 5:00 AM to be admitted and have my long (~very~ long) – awaited GRS. I think my brain has finally wrapped itself around the fact that this is actually happening. I am not sure I can find the words to express my joy right in this moment. Today saw lots of giggling and lots of (very happy) tears; my emotions are flowing wildly, and I am feeling so much warmth, so much peace, so much happiness.

I’m gonna wrap for the night with my favorite chant from The Crossing:

“Bless the Lord, oh my soul, Hallelujah

Bless the Lord, oh my soul, Hallelujah…”

2 Comments»

  Corrvin wrote @

Old “TS” story time. This’ll be fun when you’re out of surgery and loopy.

So, as you know, I’m a serious gamer. In all the games I’ve played (EQ, WoW, EQ2) I’ve been heavy into the crafting, making stuff, skilling, trades thing. (Also, making money off selling things to other players.)

I should mention that in most games, almost all guy characters are played by men, but only about half of gal characters are played by women. (Gamers are 75% men, 25% women, but in-game characters are closer to 50/50, with half the female characters being played by men.)

Anyways, I like playing guys. I like not being treated like a chick. I like doing it for the same reasons I crossdress, which is a whole ‘nother story. So, I’m in-game, and a good friend sends me a tell:

“How’s TS going?”

So I send a tell back explaining that, um, I just like dressing up like a guy. I like my bits, well, I like them enough to keep them rather than the currently available surgical alternative (which isn’t really the same as liking them but that’s another story, right?)…

And then about half a second after I send that, I get a clarifying question:
“I mean, how’s tradeskills?”

Gee, pretty good from under this rock where I’m gonna hide for the next year…

  pickypenelope wrote @

LOL! Yes, a great story Corrvin, thanks!


Leave a Reply

