Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Day 5: Penny’s Excellent Adventure

[This is part of my ongoing diary about my SRS experience in Trinidad, Colorado with Dr. Marci Bowers. See the main page here: Penny’s Excellent Adventure.]

4:12 AM

Up, dressed, and about to leave for the hospital. As my mom just said: “It’s finally here.” And, as I said: “Thank fucking God.” Wow, in like eight or nine hours I’ll be done. Yay.

 

6:18 AM:

I’m at the hospital, in my bed. I’ve had my vitals taken and I think I’m basically prepped for surgery. I have yet to hva emy IV put in, but I think other than that I seem pretty ready. I’m guessing my surgery will be around 8:00-ish or so, which means I should be out of surgery by noon. Thank you again to everyone who has sent their hearts, thoughts, well-wishes, and prayers in the last few days – it really means more than I could possibly ever say.

 

6:25 PM:

So, I’m awake enough to be blogging, I think I handled surgery pretty well.  🙂  According to my doc I was a “challenge,” but everything apparently looks great. Yay. Jayme is here, Alana is here, and Mom is here, and it just feels amazing. I’ve talked to Tim a few times as well – wow I miss him. Jayme got me flowers that are the same kind of flower she had in her bouqet at our wedding (star-gazer lillies; they’re gorgeous); that just seemed so sweet and lovely beyond belief. My mom got me roses and a little Hello Kitty balloon and a balloon shaped like a foot that says, “It’s a girl!” My mom rocks (actually, right now lots of people rock). And how cool is that Alana came all the way out here for little other reason that to be here for me Alana got me an amazing card that says: “Is There Anything You Can’t Do?” Wow, eh?

I did have one little hiccup when I took some Toradol for pain and it made my Blood Pressure crash (Jayme was really worried). I was totally out for a couple hours. After those couple hours, though, I felt much better and much more lucid.

My doc came in and talked to me shortly after I woke up. She kicks major ass; I definitely made the right choice coming out here to teeny Trinidad, CO to see this surgeon.

Mom and Jayme are hanging out with me now. I feel simply amazing. 🙂

 

6:56 PM:

Just saw that Comet Lulin will mke its closest approach to Earth today, February 24th. Even the heavens are celebrating for me.  😉

 

8:10 PM:

Mom and Jayme and Alana just left; I’m fixing to settle in watch some Star Wars movies. And get a good night’s sleep for the first time in a week.  😉

 

8:48 PM:

And now I’m crashing for the night.

 

Thanks again to everyone!

5 Comments»

  raven wrote @

It’s a girl – I love it.

Congrat’s Penny.

You are in my thoughts.

xoxo

  Corrvin wrote @

Congratulations!

  Lisalee wrote @

Yay!!! Welcome to the post-op club!

  DDA wrote @

Woohoo! Congratulations and good luck! 🙂

[…] Yep, apparently; three months ago today I had my […]


Leave a Reply

