Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Day 7: Penny’s Excellent Adventure

[This is part of my ongoing diary about my SRS experience in Trinidad, Colorado with Dr. Marci Bowers. See the main page here: Penny’s Excellent Adventure.]

6:30 AM:

Ooh boy, bed pan. Pooping in a bucket in bed is sort of gross.

 

9:30 AM:

Had to poop again, and they actually let me get out of bed and go potty. Getting out of bed felt amazing. My IV is done, and those damn compression things are off my leggies. I’m feeling considerably less pain than yesterday, which is pretty cool. Yay, I’m on the mend!  🙂

 

10:39 AM:

Up again, this time sitting in the chair next to the bed. Have I mentioned how much I hate bed rest? Jayme’s here, and if I’ve ever had a better friend I’m not aware of it; she is just such an amazing woman and friend. I know this process has brought up some difficult emotions for her, which makes her being her for me all the more special.

 

11:34 AM:

Just took a walk around the hospital. I am really feeling so much better today. I hate how weak you get after just a couple days of bed rest. I caught the first glimpse of my labia (that’s pretty cool!), the left side is a little swollen, but still – ~my~ labia. Damn. Yay. Thank God. 🙂

I’m pretty wiped out from the walk, so I think I may just sleep for a little bit.

 

1:25 PM:

And the IV is out – yay!

 

4:19 PM:

So, I mentioned that my left labia was a litte swollen, well I had to have it re-wrapped with a little bit of a pressure dressing. It seems like it’s no big deal from what everyone has said. By wrapping it tightly it helps the skin graft to really get absorbed, I guess.

 

7:00 PM:

Just talked to Tim for a little bit; let’s just say that he is about as cute and sweet as he could possibly be. I don’t want to share exactly what he said, but tonight while we were on the phone he said something just all sorts of special. I am so lucky I found him. I love him so much.  🙂

 

8:10 PM:

And now I have a fever (101.6), so I just got some Motrin. That’s a really common reaction for me to have after a physical trauma. I’m not worried, but I hate fevers, especially when I’m stuck in bed.

 

9:47 PM:

Seems like the Motrin helped a ton, the fever seemes to have really broken. Now for another night of sleeping through Futurama.

1 Comment»

  Corrvin wrote @

Yay for pooping!

…I don’t feel so bad now about all the times I’ve totally overshared bodily functions in my LJ. You are obviously not perturbed by it at all.


Leave a Reply

