Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Day 13: Penny’s Excellent Adventure

[This is part of my ongoing diary about my SRS experience in Trinidad, Colorado with Dr. Marci Bowers. See the main page here: Penny’s Excellent Adventure.]

6:21 AM:

~Don’t~ wanna be up this early. I am tired, and I am not looking forward to the very long day ahead of me. First I have to go through the whole rigamarole of getting ready, then the two-hour drive to Colorado Springs, flight to Dallas, two-hour layover, flight to Boston. I won’t be home till midnight, and the first thing I’m gonna have to do when I get home is dilate. No wonder I feel exhausted already.

 

12:10 PM (MST) – Colorado Springs Airport:

[I wrote some frustrated stuff, and I’ve decided not to print it, but I did feel I should acknowledge the big edit.]

An interesting thing happened when I dropped off the rental car; I asked the guy if I could get a receipt inside, and he said, “Yes, sir.” And then immediately corrected himself (he was obviously embarrassed at making the mistake, actually). Something is different even just since surgery about my confidence. I noticed that he did that, but it didn’t bother me at all – at all. I’ve been gaining confidence over the last couple years, but it seems like I might finally be “there.” Whatever, I’m a woman, all women are occassionally mis-gendered (as are all men); it happens, it’s a mistake on the part of the person speaking. It no longer feels like I’m being “read,” it feels like the person made a mistake.

Something completely unexpected is that I’m actually feeling very well rested. The drive was long, but not bad. Checking in at security was interesting. I had to declare my prescription vaginal gel, and my bag seemed to take a little extra time – I wonder what they thought of my dilators. 😉

 

5:15 PM (CST) – Dallas/Ft. Worth Airport:

Nice flight from Colorado Springs to Dallas. An interesting thing I noticed was that adjusting my position while sitting is tricky with my current level of healing. I ended up sitting pretty much in the exact same position for the flight; my right hip got very tired by the end of the flight.

I called my mom and Tim when we got to Dallas; I miss my boyfriend a lot.

 

1:29 AM (EST) – home:

I was right, I really wasn’t in the mood to dilate when I got home, but I did. Wow, I am really quite tired. It feels nice to be home. I feel like there was something profound I wanted to say, but it has left me, and I’m much too tired to hope for it to return this evening.

Good night, and the Adventure has come to an end (I’ll probably do a redux in the next couple days).

Thank you to everyone who prayed for me, kept me in their thoughts, or however you want to describe expressing positive energy toward another.

5 Comments»

  RAVEN wrote @

glad you’re home safe and sound Penny. xoxo

  Corrvin wrote @

I got your postcard. Glad you’re home!

  DDA wrote @

Welcome back to the snow. 🙂

…all women are occassionally mis-gendered (as are all men)…

I’m often mistaken for a woman on the phone; it can get embarrassing for the other person when I then give my name.

  emharkey wrote @

I’m so glad that you’re back in Boston. You are remarkable and courageous. Hurrah!

  Lisalee wrote @

Airline travel with my dilators has ALWAYS been an adventure…from puzzled looks to full inspection.


Leave a Reply

