Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

“That’s a lot of granulation tissue”

I just got back from a visit to see a local surgeon. Pretty much the only ongoing issue in my healing is a little flap of skin that’s hanging off and expresses a bit of puss-like stuff. I sent pictures to my surgeon in Colorado who performed my SRS. She said that it looked like granulation tissue and that I should be able to have it taken care of locally. It took me a little pressing, but I found a local surgeon that was willing to look at me.

I was a bit stressed out due to a very emotional conversation with my boyfriend last night, so my emotions were shot to start out. The fact that the surgeon I went to see is a urologist didn’t help. Though, the department lists “female urology” as a specialty, and my mom has been to see a urologist, and my therapist, who is female, has seen this exact doctor, so I’m just being silly.

My anxiety built as I entered the building and rode the elevator to the sixth floor. While I was waiting in line for registration one of the office assistants called me “sir” – not a good start. She never corrected herself, but she was fine besides that.

As I waited in the waiting room I was hardly the only woman there, which helped to put me at ease a little. But while I was waiting for the office assistant for the surgeon who was going to see me, I caught myself absent-mindedly scratching my hand. It’s been a very long time since my anxiety lead me to engage in any sort of self-harm (I used to pull my hair, poke myself with pins, and scratch myself as “coping” and distracting elements). I can’t remember the last time I was that anxious.

After about forty-five minutes in the waiting room I was called in to see the surgeon.

I got to take my first ride in stirrups – oh joy!

When the doctor was first examining me he turned me into an impromptu teaching-tool for the nurse in the room. He pointed out my clitoris to her and explained that it was formerly the head of my penis, and also pointed out my urethral opening and vaginal opening. It was definitely sort of weird. I guess my status as a post-operative transsexual makes me enough of an oddity that I get to be used as a lab rat anytime I’m around medical folks. It’s weird, because I don’t really mind helping to educate, but the way it was done felt fairly dehumanizing. Oh well.

The surgeon said that I have a lot of granulation tissue, and he was hesitant to take it off; he thought there might be a bit of pain. I said that I have a fairly high pain tolerance and I felt comfortable with him taking it off. He said that it was too much to do today, so I had to make another appointment. He also said that beyond the granulation tissue it looks like I still have some healing going on.

The surgeon was actually pretty cool, and by the end of the appointment I felt much calmer and more positive, even with the couple stressy issues that happened along the way. Also, his office assistant is awesome and lovely, which always helps.

So I still have my granulation tissue for another month. In the grand scheme of things it’s not a big deal, but I wanted it done with; I’m tired of wearing pads everyday.

9 Comments»

  “That’s a lot of granulation tissue” wrote @

[…] Original post by pickypenelope […]

  Priscilla wrote @

Penny, I just want to tell you how much I appreciate the very honest sharing you engage in here. I can’t articulate exactly how, but reading about your experiences are in some way helping me heal in issues about my own body. So, thank you.

  pickypenelope wrote @

Priscilla, thank you so much for this. I started writing way back when just as sort of a release, and for some reason it helps for me to do it in a blog. It was a surprise to me that anyone would actually ever read my ramblings, let alone benefit from them. I’m always very happy to hear that my writing has a positive effect. You are more than welcome.

  Ben G wrote @

On reading about how you suddenly became a “teaching tool”…

I remember when I had Shingles of the Anus and apparently this is such a rare place to have shingles and the nerve patterns of the Anus make extremely odd patterns that every resident, intern, etc at the UNC Chapel Hill Teaching Hospital needed to view this oddity which happened to be on my behind…

I was on medical display every two hours for a week…

  pickypenelope wrote @

Okay Benji, you win!

:-p

  Lisalee wrote @

Damn, another month!

  pickypenelope wrote @

Yep, that’s exactly what I thought!

[…] July 8, 2009 at 4:13 pm · Filed under Health, Transition and tagged: granulation tissue I’ve mentioned a few times that one of the issues I had after my surgery was some granulation tissue right at my vaginal opening. It wasn’t all that painful, but it was annoying and emmitted a fair amount of near-constant puss-like discharge. There was quite a bit, actually; the doc said that it was a lot. […]

[…] the granulation tissue, which I wrote about here, here, here, here, and here, seems mainly resolved. It seems I still have some in the very back of […]


Leave a Reply

