Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Inconsistent Tranny

How the hell am I supposed to insist that people don’t use the word “tranny” when I come to a queer space and they toss it around like drunken sailors?

Could we at least decide whether it’s a horrible word or not, please?

And none of this shit about “well, we can use it but ~cisgender~ people can’t.” That is hypocritical bullshit.

guh

It is interesting how alienated and unwelcome I often feel in queer spaces – I’m really such a normal little straight girl nowadays…

6 Comments»

  Anonymous T Girl wrote @

Hivemind.

  lisalee18wheeler wrote @

Duh…and it’ll probably get worse, Penny. But what do I know… 😉

  Alana wrote @

Well this week I went to that same place, heard that word which I feel I can use – and others that I am not allowed to – because it has been reclaimed as empowerment. I think its about self empowerment – taking back what used to be bad and making it good.

(you should be able to imagine the other word)

So I also considered going to Traniwreck on Friday Night.

http://www.myspace.com/traniwreck

On Saturday I hung out with one half of The Radical Trannies

http://www.transfm.org/index.php?module=pagemaster&PAGE_user_op=view_page&PAGE_id=47&MMN_position=64:64

Yes, it is hypocritical, but with purpose, to say you can not abuse me anymore – and I can reclaim what is mine. (Ok, don’t even start in on if that label is for you and read that into the word mine – I’m not assigning anyone the term)

So, I’ve decided that you can ask me to not use that word, and as a friend I will do my best to respect your wishes – when I am around you. But after three events, three days in a row, seeing it used in an empowering way and often – I will not ban it from my lexicon.

I may have my own reservations about it – but seeing the power and pride of some using that word – taking ownership – to declare their status – to stand up to the world and be strong – I will let others be their beautiful unique individual selves and walk among the world as they are.

  pickypenelope wrote @

I’m not a big fan of “reclaiming,” though I do believe in context.

I’m trying to keep the word out of my general vocabulary, and I will suggest to others that many Trans* people find it highly offensive.

I don’t feel like the word “tranny” fits as a descriptor of me anymore. So I would tend to eschew it’s being applied to me. Having said that, I doubt I will get all that bent out of shape if you use it around me. The other night was just weird for a lot of reasons.

And I strongly reject the sense that it’s okay for Trans* folk to use it but not for non-Trans* folk. It’s either okay or it’s not (with allowances for context, of course).

  Michelle wrote @

The odd time I’ve had it used with respect to me, I simply tell them that I’m not a car part, thank you.

… and yes, I find the term somewhat annoying at best – it sounds awful to the ear, and seems to me more than just a bit disrespectful.

  Alana wrote @

yup, and your entitled to feel how you may about it. Personally, I try hard to never use it at all, or towards anybody, especially someone I don’t know. If the person uses it to describe themselves, I may hesitantly use it with them.

And its one of those great dual meaning words.

I’ve personally changed three trannies in my life. One tranny on my 79 mustang, and two 350 turbo trannies on my 79 pontiac le mans. And also helped countless friends and mechanics with other transmission jobs and replacements and have had never ending talks about the best types of tranny. You just try going into a junkyard and asking for a transmission – they’ll look back at you from their grease soaked fingers – stained yellow grease from the constant cigarette – and just think you want to be sent to the moon.


Leave a Reply

