Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

The Fair was Fun

My boyfriend and I went to the Marshfield Fair yesterday. It was super-amazingly fun. I had never been to a fair before, and it’s been quite a while since I even went to a carnival. My boyfriend saw an add for the fair last week while we were hanging out and said that it would be fun, and I thought it sounded awesome.

So, we got there around 3:30 because I had to teach in the morning. We walked around a bit at first and saw the agricultural stuff (~big~ veggies), a dude carving with a chainsaw (very cool), some birds of prey (the crimson macaw was gorgeous), a blacksmith, and we did some window-shopping at some of the vendors. It was neat to see how rural it could be just 30 minutes from my house. I really felt like I was in a more remote place than I was. It’s yet another reason I love living where I do: I’m 20 minutes from downtown Boston and 30 minutes from the country – how awesome is that?

We played a few games. We played darts and my boyfriend won me a cute little stuffed bear. He played a couple games while I watched (he had way too much fun shooting the automatic BB rifle – I think he played three rounds with it).

We sat and watched some of the Team Penning event, which was pretty cool. Three riders had to separate out certain cows from a herd and guide them into a pen. I love skilled riding events. Horse riding is just super groovy; if I wasn’t so heavy I would probably go horseback riding sometimes, but I worry about breaking the horse’s back.

Then we went and watched the Pro Wrestling. My boyfriend had never seen pro wrestling live before, and he was just adorable. He hooted and yelled and cheered. He was like a twelve year-old boy. It was very cute. I used to be too much of a pro wrestling fan, so I was explaining some of the concepts and moves to my boyfriend. My boyfriend knows kempo, so he was telling me about the proper throws and moves and such. It was way too much fun watching the wrestling with him. He’s so damn cute. In a pleasant surprise, Tito Santana was one of the wrestlers performing. Tito was one of my favorites when I was younger, and even though he’s slowed down quite a bit, it was awesome to see him in person.

After the wrestling we got funnel cakes and then went on some rides. We went through the fun-house, and the haunted house, and the house of mirrors, and my favorite, the Ferris wheel. We were like two kids having all kinds of fun at the fair. I missed out on so much in my youth because of my social phobia and depression. I never would have been able to go to a fair before and have anywhere near this much fun. I am so grateful for the chance to get these experiences now.

I was really cold by the time we were ready to leave, so I went and bought this pink poncho that I had seen earlier in the day. It’s really cool (I love ponchos), and it’s pink. 🙂

My boyfriend came back to my place and we watched Aeon Flux (the movie) together (I had never seen it). Then we went to bed and got up this morning and I made bacon and eggs for breakfast. I can’t remember the last time I made breakfast for anyone else. My last boyfriend was a chef so I didn’t really cook when we were together, and I’ve been alone at home for almost two years now. It felt really good to cook for someone else.

What a lovely day, and night, and morning.

What fun.

yay

🙂

5 Comments»

  Véronique wrote @

This is a lovely entry, Penny. Glad you had such a nice weekend.

  pickypenelope wrote @

Thanks Véronique! It was a pretty amazing time. My boyfriend has used the word “magic” quite a bit to describe our time together, and who am I to argue?
🙂

  Anonymous T Girl wrote @

You’re too cute and awesome for words!

A fair together. A liberated teddy. A new pink poncho. And not waking up alone.

That sounds like a perfect day in my book!

  lisalee18wheeler wrote @

I haven’t been to a fair in forever. I’m sooooo jealous. 😉

  Wendy wrote @

Thanks for sharing Penny, hearing about your day at the fair made me smile, made me remember happy days at the fair when I was a teenager and makes me hopeful that maybe one day I’ll have a boyfriend to take me places too.

I wanted to say though that if you want to go horse back riding then you should! I grew up on a horse farm and have been riding since I was wee, now I weigh 220lbs and a horse barely notices me when I mount. Horses are incredibly powerful so don’t let a weight issue stop you from doing it if it’s important to you! The only other tip I’ll offer is try English rather than Western, it’s more fun in the long run because you can do jumping later and that is very exciting!


Leave a Reply

