Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Before and after the Pageant

So, yeasterday I went with my boyfriend and an old friend and a new friend to see the Miss Trans Northampton 2009 pageant in Northampton, MA. I blogged about the event separately here. I wanted to write about the before and after, and sort of felt like it made sense to keep the thoughts a little separate.

Anyway, I had decided the other day to go to the event, which I guess is sort of a big deal. I’ve never really done much in either the GLBT community or the T community. It didn’t feel “safe” before, and now in some ways I feel like I’ve moved beyond the GLBT or T communities – it’s weird. I’m just a pretty boring woman with a moderately interesting history. Yet, I do understand how important it is for me to be open to being connected to the T community to try and make the world better for T people, and really ~all~ people. Because I firmly believe that T people are exactly as important as everyone else, but are so easily marginalized by society. I guess what I’m saying is that just because I’ve found my little slice of heaven doesn’t mean I’m going to run off into the sunset; there is still so much work to be done legally, societally, and interpersonally when it comes to all things T, and I will be part of that. I am still connecting with my own power and voice and story and figuring out how best to do that, but it is very important to me, and I will be a part of it.

So, I decided to go. lol

Yesterday morning, my boyfriend basically came out and asked if he was invited. I had decided not to invite him, not because I didn’t want him to come, but because I thought it might be overwhelming for him. He’s very open-minded in lots of ways, but I wasn’t sure if this would be the best thing to expose him to as his first trans event. Needless to say, I was wicked happy when he asked if he was invited, and instantly said yes. This man continues to just blow my mind. Just, wow.

I picked him up after teaching and we headed out on the two-hour drive to Northampton. We chatted about everything on the drive, as we always do.

We got to Northampton and met up with a couple friends. As my boyfriend and I were at the pageant, we talked about some stuff about my history, and some stuff about the pageant itself. I am so impressed with his open-mindedness (and I mean that in a very general way, not just about trans stuff), and his clarity of thought. It’s just really neat to talk to him about just about anything.

As we sat there I found myself thinking that not just every straight guy would come to the Miss Trans pageant with his girlfriend. He’s really pretty special.

Anyway, after the pageant, my two friends, my boyfriend and I wandered around town for a little bit before deciding to have dinner before heading home. We ended up at the Northampton Brewery. It was amazing. We sat in the outdoor seating, which is essentially on the roof! The four of us chatted and laughed and had a wonderful time. I got a burger that was great and a cookie covered in ice cream for dessert. Yummy. My boyfriend got a beer that I tried and I thought was good (my boyfriend said that it was “nutty,” which makes sense, since I always say I don’t like hops – I usually say I don’t like beer). Perhaps the most amazing part, though, was the sky. The moon was full and the night was just gorgeous. It was a magnificant night to be dining under the stars.

After dinner we said our goodbyes and my boyfriend and I headed home.

What a magical day and night.

3 Comments»

  Dave wrote @

awesome

  Anonymous-T-Girl wrote @

Confident, open-minded guys like that are rare.

Hang on like grim death!

  pickypenelope wrote @

lol!

It certainly isn’t lost on me that he’s pretty special. Thanks for the tip. 😉


Leave a Reply

