Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Wearing The Cross

My mom and I went through some of my Gram’s jewelry a few weeks ago.

I could probably get more in-depth with this subject, and maybe I will at some point, but for today just the observation seemed interesting. Anyway, I picked out all the crosses from Gram’s jewelry, and I’ve been wearing a cross since then.

It’s been another way that I’ve felt connected to my Gram. Not a day goes by when I don’t think of her. I miss her very much, and her presence is always with me. (I’ve worn her engagement ring since she died, and I always feel she’s with me.)

And something interesting has happened; people see the cross and they make assumptions about me. I know that wearing a cross is a visible statement that I am a Christian. And I know that many people have suffered at people doing bad things and claiming to hide under the guise of being Christian. But it’s still been interesting to me the reactions that I’ve gotten from people since I started wearing the cross. I won’t lie, it’s not like the entire world has turned to stare at me, but there has been a noticeable difference. I guess I’m wearing something in a prominent way that expresses a belief; people learn something about the way I feel just by looking at me in a way that wasn’t true before I began wearing the cross.

It’s weird. And lovely, actually. I know I’m a sort of unorthodox Christian, but I claim the label proudly. When I was in my religion class in my Catholic High School and we were asked what person from history we’d most like to have lunch with and I said Jesus, the other kids called me a suck-up, but I meant it. I find Jesus the most fascinating and special person ever. He is my most important spiritual teacher.

Being a Christian is complicated, and there are many right ways to be a Christian. There are also ways in which and times when the teachings of Jesus have been used to harmful ends. Though I refuse to blame Jesus for the errors of people claiming to act in his name. I can’t throw out the baby with the bath-water like that.

Anyway, I didn’t mean to turn this into a spiritual thing. I just wanted to say that it’s been interesting to witness how the world has started to change its vision of me since I started wearing the cross. I didn’t expect it, though I guess it’s not very surprising.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

