Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Gender Non-Conforming Bible

Last I went to see Peterson Toscano‘s one person play Transfigurations: Transgressing Gender in the Bible. Here’s a video blurb:

It was fascinating. I am so buoyed by learning about the history of people who stepped out of the gender expectations of their societies; I’m especially interested in hearing about Biblical examples of this. I spent so long thinking that being born with the wrong body was something that couldn’t be reconciled with a Christian faith, to learn that that isn’t the case is simply wonderful. As I’ve said in the past, when I finally decided to transition I saw it as finally surrendering and giving up to what I had been fighting for so long. God’s plan was for me to transition – I joke that God was waving pom-poms when I finally figured it out and transitioned saying: “Wow, she ~finally~ got it” and chanting: “Go Penny; Go Penny!” I know down in the deepest parts of me that God and I are good, and it’s lovely to have some Biblical examples to help spread the word. It’s one thing for me to be able to say, “I know this to be true.” It’s another thing entirely to be able to say, “Here are some interesting things the Bible says about gender non-conforming folks.”

From talk of eunuchs to female-bodied warriors, the Bible makes space for, and sometimes even honors above and beyond, those folks who fall outside their typical roles. To mis-quote an aphorism: “Well-behaved trans folk seldom make history.”  🙂

The funny thing, of course, is that I’m almost excessively gender-conforming nowadays, which is another subject I suppose. But it’s still very important for me to show that there is a place for everyone at God’s Table.

So yea, it was an amazing play, and if you get the chance you should go see it. And Peterson is just lovely!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

