Penny's Story

A cute little drummer living her dream.

Mob Mentality

So, there’s this film called Ticked Off Trannies with Knives. It’s scheduled to be shown at the Tribecca Film Festival. And naturally, that’s causing the inevitable freak-out.

I’m told that I’m supposed to be insulted because they use the word “tranny.” Sorry, I’ve given that up. Too many people in the community use the word for me to see it as insulting anymore. It’s just a word. If I can use it, so can anyone else. Context is important, sure, but it’s a cheesy movie. Do we really need to stage a full mobilization to crush a cheesy movie?

I’m urged to be horrified that the “trannies” in the movie act like drag queens and therefore aren’t representative of real transgender women. Well, wait a minute. Isn’t the party line that drag queens fall under the “Transgender Umbrella” that’s always being promoted to insist that we’re all one big happy family? Is it really a good thing to argue that portrayals of drag are horribly offensive?

I’m told that even though the women in the movie (several of whom happen to have some sort of trans in their histories) are comfortable with the movie that they shouldn’t have a say. I’m told that the community should over-ride the women who are in the movie.

Oh, and no one has seen the movie yet, either.

I dunno, I just can’t get all worked up about this. Is it a great thing? No, probably not. But I think it’s disingenuous to claim that the word tranny is so offensive when so many people with trans histories use it. We use it as titles of podcasts and radio shows and the like – but no one else is allowed to use it, I guess. I find it terribly hypocritical to claim that presenting drag as transgender is inaccurate, since the community argues so strongly for inclusion of drag under the “Transgender Umbrella.”

It’s a movie.

And, it might be painful, but in watching how society has gradually come to understand minorities, cheesy (and, fine, offensive) art is often part of the process. I guess I almost see this as moving things forward. It’s twisted, but it’s the way stuff like this seems to go.

And I’m also just saddened by how much energy I’ve seen directed toward this. There’s ENDA still sitting stuck in Washington, and it’s possibly been amended with anti-trans language, but no one’s even sure, and that doesn’t generate this much energy.

3 Comments»

  ‘Tanny Queen Lady-Boy’ LezleeAnne wrote @

Penny, I’m so glad to hear ya say this because I felt exactly the same, even a little stronger than that which is why I tend to keep quiet about it (& a whole lot more for that matter).
I don’t need to see the movie, but I’ll bet that the people who are taking offence to and/or issues with it are like spoiled, self-absorbed children who if they walk into a room and hear people laughing automatically assume they’re the target. This type of oversensitivity is what I learned in certain rooms to call “cronic-tragic uniqueness” as well as a lack of gratitude for the good things in their world. Movies depict all kinds of whacky distortions of reality, thats entertainment. And as time goes on I grow tired of people looking to make a mountain out of a molehill, which I think just makes the non-trans community continue to dislike us. I admit I don’t like this kind of rebel-rousing over what is nothing. It’s silly, childish, shallow and counterproductive. But thank Goddess for the freedoms we do have, more than most other places in the world, & so these (as I call them) compulsive complainers are allowed to speak as well as you and I sister Penny.
Sincerely, Ms. Leslie-Anne Rios

  ‘Tranny Queen Lady-Boy’ LezleeAnne wrote @

oops I mispelled my favorite TS label
that was supposed to say TRANNY

  lisalee18wheeler wrote @

There are far more important things to worry about these days than how some queens appear on celluloid. Like paying the rent or putting food on the table.

They don’t speak for me, now or ever.


Leave a Reply

